All / Sugoi

Racing for Lives – An Introduction

Honolulu Triathlon 2008

Honolulu Triathlon 2008

Approximately 24 months ago I began training for my first triathlon with Team in Training on behalf of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

My first experience with Team in Training literally changed my life and afforded me new found perspective for how to commit myself to a cause and how to maintain my focus on persevering despite injury. Some readers will know that during the course of my training I suffered four shoulder dislocations ultimately requiring surgery.

Despite the injury requiring me to learn how to swim with one arm, I successfully completed the Honolulu Triathlon in May 2008. Having had such a positive first experience with Team in Training, I have since gone on to complete the Nike Women’s Marathon (2008 and 2009) as well as the Nashville Country Music Marathon (2009). I managed to sneak in shoulder surgery after Nike 2008 leaving me about 10 weeks to train for NCMM 2009.

As I move towards a new training season full of new challenges I am very much excited and looking forward to my next race: the Big Five Marathon taking place on June 5th, 2010. Not for the faint of heart, this race is located on the Entabeni Game Reserve north of Johannesburg, South Africa. Scheduled to start at 8 o’clock in the morning, the race’s actual start time depends on the location of the local pride of lions!

While other charities may be sponsored, the Big Five Marathon is a race to benefit the South African Red Cross.

Recently I was selected as a Sugoi Brand Champion. “Many SUGOI Brand Champions are podium finishers in major international events; many others are everyday athletes whose personal bests come in different forms other than winning. All athletes are successful at what is important to SUGOI: the ability to be inspirational and to make a difference.”

I look forward to sharing training stories, product updates / reviews, race stories / profiles and much more.

4 thoughts on “Racing for Lives – An Introduction

  1. I had fun understanding this post. I want to see more on this subject.. Gives Thanks for writing this nice article.. Anyway, I’m going to sign to your rss and I wish you write great articles again soon.

Leave a Reply

