All

Words to Run By

At different points in any run or any race there comes a moment when you need some extra motivation. Something that is going to push you harder or just convince you not to stop moving when all you want to do is call it a day. Maybe it’s the weather, maybe you were out a little late last night, maybe you’re just having a bad day, maybe you’re pushing for a new PB and need something too keep you focused, or maybe it’s just that point in the race when no one else is around and you neeed to feel like you’re not alone out there.

Here are some of my favourites that either keep me going, prevent me from stopping, and make sure I even get started.

“To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the Gift.” – Prefontaine

“Something inside of me just said ‘Hey, wait a minute, I want to beat him,’ and I just took off.” – Prefontaine

“You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.” – Prefontaine

“My feet have several thousand meetings scheduled with the dirt on a trail not far from here. Who am I to keep them waiting? Time to run.” -Jeb Dickerson

“The obsession with running is really an obsession with the potential for more and more life.” – George Sheehan

“Performance, and performance along, dictate the predator in any food chain.” – SEAL team saying

“I ran. I ran until my veins pumped battery acid. And then I ran some more.” – Fight Club

“I’m never going to run this again.” – Grete Waitz after winning her first of 9 NYC marathons

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” – Neale Donald Walsch

“Take … the path that runs along the cliff–that one, the one without any guardrails. Take that path, and know the exhilaration of the ride and the pride you feel when you reach the end will inspire you to take that path again and again. And that experience … every day, will make you more fulfilled, more complete, and more alive.” – Harry Beckwith

“Running long and hard is an ideal antidepressant, since it’s hard to run and feel sorry for yourself at the same time. Also, there are those hours of clearheadedness that follow a long run.” – Monte Davis

“You have to forget your last marathon before you try another. Your mind can’t know what’s coming.” – Frank Shorter

“At the two-thirds mark, I think of those who are still with me. Who might make a break? Should I? Then I give it all I’ve got.” Ibrahim Hussein, on marathon tactics

“Get going. Get up and walk if you have to, but finish the damned race.”
Ron Hill to Jerome Drayton during the 1970 Boston Marathon

“Learn to run when feeling the pain: then push harder.” – William Sigei

And then we get to the Pearl Izumi “We Are Not Joggers” marketing campaign. This is an exceptional campaign with some marvellous creative targeted very well towards runners. Here are some of my favourite parts.

“Our ancestors never jogged down a meal.”

“If you want to know who the real runners are just take a look outside during Mother Nature’s next hissy fit.”

“If you are not sure if you are running or jogging, go faster.”

No one has ever been humbled by jogging. If all we want to do is feel good about ourselves, jogging is the ticket. It doesn’t challenge us. It doesn’t test us. It doesn’t exact a physical or psychological toll. Worst case scenario is, jogging may cause mild perspiration on color-coordinated sweat suits. But if we’re willing to push ourselves into uncharted territory, a place littered with broken bodies and remnants of the human psyche, running may be what we’re looking for. Without question, it dishes out more heaping helpings of humble pie than any sport we know of. Little wonder that so few people have the testicular fortitude to lace up and run like an animal.”

Leave a Reply

