Adventure / All / Racing The Planet

Stage 6: Brick Walls Are There For A Reason

“They are there to show us how badly we want something.They are there to stop the other people.”

387289_10150593208914073_1140423358_nToday started out rather uniquely with a 40′ canoe ride across a lake just outside of Pokhara. All remaining 170 competitors were ferried through the mist to the far side.

Shortly after 9:00am we began the final 13km leg. Running through rice paddies, creeks, rivers, back roads, more rice paddies, a quarry, another rice paddy, a couple more back roads we eventually came out onto the main road back to the race hotel.

I managed to run most of it, nearly crashing a couple of times but in the end pulled it together. I got a massive surprise as a friend who had just trekked to Everest Base Camp was standing at the finishing line with his wife. Totally unexpected and an absolute rush.

“If we embark in each adventure with an open heart and open mind it will take us places we never meant to go and enrich and enlighten us in ways we otherwise never would have known.”

The final steps - 210km through the Himalayas, done.

Coming into this event I did not know what to expect. At parts of each day I did not know if I would finish. There has obviously been some self discovery and recognition that there is much left to learn about the world and myself. Both of these facts excite me.

The messages people have sent have really been the galvanizing factor in keeping me focused and able to block out the pain as well as the doubt. Over the next 2 – 3 weeks I am going to try to write everyone back to thank each of you personally.

“Scarred knees and a battered body are the map of a runner, who not content with merely the next step,
dreams of what lay beyond the next horizon.”

It is far too early for me to know what the next adventure or charitable cause will be; there is some physical healing and experiencing digesting to do first. I still haven’t been able to fully wrap my head around the past week, the various challenges faced and overcome, and the overall experience.

I would like to thank all of you for being part of and enhancing this experience for me. My life has become richer for it. I’ve got access to my email now so if you are interested in writing back please just reply to this email. It may take a few days for me to get back to you as I’m off to Vietnam tomorrow for a week of R&R.

Talk to you all soon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

